Watch a cat, bunny and kangaroo

Kangaroo in Aldinga Scrub Conservation Park in South Australia.

I’ve been cat- and bunny-sitting for Melissa, a friend of Jared’s, for the last four days. This has been the view from her front door:

Hart Road Wetlands in Aldinga, South Australia. (photo: ulrike.ca)
The Hart Road Wetlands in Aldinga, South Australia.

I’ve also been watching kangaroos. Every day at dusk, I could see them hop in the grasses in the Hart Road Wetland.

Today I took a walk through the adjacent Aldinga Scrub Conservation Park and took a few photos.

I found myself following kangaroo trails instead of park trails (which were grown-over and unmarked anyways). I could quietly stand and watch a kangaroo mum massage her pouch where a young joey might hide.

According to the Friends of Aldinga Scrub Conservation Park page,

“The Aldinga Scrub is one of the few remaining patches of native vegetation characterising the pre-settlement coastal scrubland in the vicinity of what is now greater Adelaide. It is of rare significance and is noted for its unusual association of plants including species characteristic of sclerophyll forest, mallee scrub and coastal sands.”

Stump at Aldinga Scrub Conservation Park in South Australia.
Gum tree stump at Aldinga Scrub Conservation Park in South Australia.
Lichen Coral trail in Aldinga Scrub Conservation Park in South Australia.
Lichen Coral trail in Aldinga Scrub Conservation Park in South Australia.

For me as a visitor, it was a nice contrast to the Mount Lofty Botanic Garden which I’d visited with Jared and his family the previous day.

Picture frame in Mount Lofty Botanic Garden near Adelaide, Australia.
Picture frame in Mount Lofty Botanic Garden near Adelaide, Australia.
